The History of the Pousada de Ourém - Fátima

We are processing your request.
Please wait...
Book online and pay only at the Pousada
Book online and pay only at the Pousada
Your credit card is only to guarantee the reservation.
See photo Gallery of the Pousada
Pousada Ourem Facade
Best Rate From
Terms and conditions apply
Best Rate From
Terms and conditions apply
Best Rate From
Terms and conditions apply
Best Rate From
Terms and conditions apply
Best Rate From
Terms and conditions apply

Book now

start date end date
Sunday Monday
Number of nights: 1
A Charming Hotel The History of the Pousada de Ourém - Fátima
A Charming Hotel
The Pousada de Ourém is the result of the joining of the old manor houses with an old mercy hospital from the fifteenth century. The old framing of the Pousada is made with arches and materials from other periods of time, its wood-based furniture fitting to the Pousada's characteristics.
The Count of Ourém is a noble title in Portugal. It is currently connected to the House of Bragança. Today, the representative of the title is His Royal Highness, D. Duarte Pio, 24th Duke of Bragança, 28th Count of Ourém and suitor to the Portuguese throne.
The History of Ourém
In the year 1136 D. Afonso Henriques took from the moors the early castle, later named Aurem, whilst fighting to expand the reign of Portugal and affirm the Christian faith on the Moors.
Ourém became part of the Christian rule when it was taken from the Moors in 1136 by D. Afonso Henriques.  It was given to his daughter, Queen Teresa, who gave it its first Charter in 1180, giving rise to one of the first municipalities of the country.
The date of foundation of the Castle of Ourém is unknown, but it is defiantly very old since in 1178 there was already talk of the castle as a national monument, an exemplary building in territorial domain, and the soul of the walled borough erected on the mount of Ourém, a place where stood a palace, a Collegiate Church and Crypt, a Gothic fountain and a Pillory, the narrow streets and whitewashed walls.
Count Andeiro, second count of Ourém, was responsible for the signing of the Alliance Treaty between England and Portugal, still in vigour to this day.
Know more
Photo Gallery
Date of the Building:
Fifteenth Century Hospital
Historical People:
The Count of Ourém
Attractions of the Pousada:
The preservation of the architectural charm of the medieval hamlet
Largo João Manso - Castelos
2490-481 Ourém
(+351) 249 540 930
(+351) 249 542 955
Nearest airport
Lisbon - 130 km; 81 miles
Decimal Degrees (WGS84) Latitude: 39.643056 Longitude: -8.591389
Degrees, Minutes & Seconds Latitude: N39 38 35 Longitude: W8 35 29
GPS Latitude: N 39 38.598 Longitude: W 8 35.484
UTM Quadrant: 29N X: 535059 Y: 4388248
Open map
Table games, Swimming pool
Speleology, Go-karting, Dirt bike tours, Walks, Visits to the Castelo de Ourém
Free Internet access in public areas, Safe at reception, Free WiFi access in the rooms, Laundry, Shop, 24h Reception, Room service, Smoke alarms in the public areas, Multilingual staff
Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bathrooms modern.
on TripAdvisor
ourem pousada awards
Certificate of Exellence 2013
We strive to offer our customers a memorable experience, and this accolade is evidence that our hard work is translating into positive reviews on TripAdvisor.